Book Review: City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

34953890

Title: 

City of Saints & Thieves

Author: 

Natalie C. Anderson

Rating

4.5/5 stars

Release date: 

January 24th 2017 (Hardcover)

July 6th 2017 (Paperback by Oneworld Publications)

Publisher: 

Oneworld Publications

Goodreads Synopsis:

Street-thief Tina breaks in to the luxurious house where her mother was killed to steal from Mr. Greyhill and nail him for her mother’s murder. She is caught red-handed.

Saved by Mr. Greyhill’s gorgeous son, Michael, the pair set in motion a cascade of dangerous events that lead them deeper into the mystery, and reveal dark and shocking secrets from Tina’s past.

Tina and her mother fled the Congo years ago as refugees, trading the uncertain danger of their besieged village for a new, safer life in the bustling Kenyan metropolis. The corruption and politics of the Congo, and the gangster world of Sangui City, are behind Tina’s mother’s downfall. Is Tina tough enough to find the truth and bring the killer to justice?

Review:

What a book!! I flew through the whole thing in two sittings! I rarely pick up Mystery/Thriller novels and I am very pleased with how City of Saints & Thieves turned out. It kept me guessing through out the whole book. I also love the fact that it centres around a thief! Tina is such a clever, cunning girl. I love a good Mystery that keeps me turning the pages and my heart racing 😮 I couldn’t put it down!

One thing that I was slightly put off by was the romance. Just slightly. Throughout the first half the book does an amazing job leaving the readers guessing. It’s more plot-driven than character and it stays that way for the most part of it, but things shift towards the end of the book. It’s not necessarily a bad thing though – we do get a good dose of character development, though I’d much prefer a book to stick with its aim from the beginning to the end of a book instead of adding in extra, unnecessary details. Plot-wise was amazing (as established earlier with my gushes ^^’ ). I’m not going say much about the ending but overall it was an enjoyable read.

Despite the book being more plot driven, I absolutely adore the characters! One that stood out most for me was Boyboy – a sassy tech genius. He’s pretty much everything I ever want in a friend. His parts of the story are an absolutely delight to read because they’re super hilarious! I was rooting for him and his goals all throughout the book #BoyboyFTW 😎

I would consider this book a favorite, no doubt. I REALLY want a spin-off that focuses on any of the characters (other than Tina). But for now I am happy with the way things turned out. I could not have asked for anything better! I highly recommend this fast-paced action read to anyone and everyone!

Thank you SO much Oneworld Publications for sending over a copy in exchange for an honest review! ❤

Leave a Reply

