Favorite Books of 2016!

Before the year ends I’d like to share with you guys my favorite books of 2016! I read 60+ books this year and I was able to put seven books in the list. Overall I’m not very impressed with my reading year 😦 I was expecting to put up at least ten books this year but seven was all I got, but these seven books really are truly amazing, and i’m entirely grateful for discovering them!

Before I start, I just want to point out that this is my opinion and if you do not agree with it than that’s okay. I’ll respect what you have to say but do respect mine in return!

Here they are, my favorite books of 2016!

7.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

27833670

I freaking loved this book, and that’s saying something coming from a person who is not a fan of sci-fi, mystery or thriller (this book is a combination of all three… I know. It’s that good). Essentially this book is about a man who wakes up after being knocked unconscious and discovers that he is now a man living a completely different life to the one he has before he was knocked out (if that makes sense?). It’s the kind of book that makes you think a lot and hooks you from beginning to end. Basically you’ll start questioning what is real and what is not and ugh guys this book just drives you INSANE!

If you want to know more, I have a review of it here. Bottom line, It’s pretty fucking mind-blowing (in both a good and a bad way)

6.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

30969076

Next on the list is Nevernight. Man, I want to applaud Jay Kristoff for writing such a masterpiece. It is literal perfection down to its characters, world building, writing and plot. It’s a little on the heavy side and it takes a while for you get a good grip on everything that’s going on, but once you get the hang of it, oh boy, you’d never want the story to end. We follow Mia and her shadow cat companion as she trains in a school of assassins to become the best. That’s all you need to know. The book includes lots of blood, gore, some intense sex, magic, more blood, murder, betrayal.. I think you get the point. Definitely on the darker, more mature side of the YA genre. If you’re a fan of Sarah J. Maas, you basically need this book.

Again, if you want to know more, I have a review of this book right here

5.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah. J Maas

17927395

Ah, no surprise there. ACOMAF is THE book of the year, hands down. Everything was brilliantly done. Sarah J. Maas really outdid herself with this sequel. It was literally everything I could ask for. The characters were definitely the highlight of this book *whispers* Night Court gang pls be my friends. I don’t have much to say about this book other than it was sexy and just pure fucking epic.

Well, if you wish to know more, my review of ACOMAf can be found here

4.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

24807186

This is the most unique book I have ever read possibly my whole life. It is a twisted Historical Fiction whereby Axis powers won the war and it’s the story of Yael, a girl who lost her family in a death camp. From then one she vows to join the Axis Tour (a motorcycle race), win the price (an audience with Adolf Hitler himself at a ball), and then when she gets her hands around his neck, kill him. This book is just absolutely gripping. The betrayal, frustration and anticipation just fuels together and it’s one heck of a ride, this story. It’s fascinating and very witty too. Yael is such an admirable character. I love everything about this story.

3.

Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer

5bc78f494bcf1a0e43f0c23c637932ec

Hell, I cannot express my love for this book enough. Marissa Meyer is such a genius. A twisted sci-fi retelling of fairytales including Cinderella, Snow White and Rapunzel? In addition to the stories being incredibly amazing, creative, unique and fucking badass? I don’t know how you do it Marissa, but let me just praise you and your series my whole life.

My shameful fangirl review of this WHOLE series in one can be found here

2.

Off Campus series by Elle Kennedy

elle-kennedy-off-campus-series-new-covers

PLEASE do not let the covers put you off (these are the new ones by the way)

If there was a New Adult series I’d read for the rest of my life, it’s Elle Kennedy’s Off Campus series. This is one new adult series I can’t recommend enough. The author’s writing is literally my favorite thing in the world. It’s hilarious and witty and really easy to read. It’s the kind of writing where it flows smoothly and you just want to read whatever it is that she writes. Essentially this series follows a different couple each book. They’re all hockey players (HNNNNG ❤ ) and they’re the sweetest, sexiest, dirtiest and the most hilarious characters you will ever meet. The girls in this series RULE. They’re fun, independent, smart and just as hilarious as the boys. Their stories aren’t exactly unique or anything, but they just somehow stick with you and.. well, you end up looking for tumblr pictures of the characters and anticipating for more books by the author and.. yeah, that kind of thing.

Just.. please, I.. please READ THIS SERIES PEOPLE.

My review of The Deal can be found here

1. 

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

17661416

*excuse my language*

I just can’t with this book. The fucking feels. Everything, from beginning to end, was literal perfection. Every. single. fucking. thing. My gosh, I cried so much for the characters. I would also like to point out that this is a contemporary with a freaking insane plot twist. We have Alex, the coolest female protagonist who suffers from Schizophrenia (a mental disorder that comes in forms of hallucinations) and doesn’t take it as an excuse to have suicidal thoughts, chooses to live her life as a normal teenage and not as a damsel in distress, and is just in general pretty fucking amazing. This is probably the best book i’ve read ever. I even started annotating on this book because of how much I have to say for each sentence. If I can send a care package consisting of pens, post-its and this book itself to everyone I know, I would, because you guys, this book is everything. It’s life. It’s all the goodness in the world.

Please. Read it. Share it to your friends and family. Read it together. Love it. Talk about it. Everyone has to know about this book.

You can find my review of this book here

Alrighty you guys, that’s it! Here’s to more fun memories! I cannot wait for 2017 and I have so many things planned out I don’t know where to start! Thank you for those who stuck by me from the beginning. You guys are awesome. I love you all! Have a great year ahead of you! x

2 thoughts on “Favorite Books of 2016!

  1. Eeeeeeep!!! ACOMAF was definitely a favourite of mine this year too! I am so excited about A Court of Wings and Ruin. Empire of Storms also made it to my top ten for 2016 list.

    I’ve read some amazing reviews of Nevernight and Dark Matter. I would love to read them soon. Thank you for sharing these awesome titles!

    Have a lovely New Year x

    Nihaad – Read & Seek

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

