September Favorites!

Hey guys! It’s been a while. September was such a great month! I discovered loads of amazing things and I can’t wait to share them with y’all. This list will be a mix of music, films and other miscellaneous stuff like books, food, etc. I hope you (somewhat) find this post interesting! Feel free to share with me some of YOUR favorites this month 🙂

BOOKS

Dark Matter by Black Crouch

Screen Shot 2016-09-20 at 9.05.41 PM.png

Oh my gosh you guys this book is everything. If you’ve seen this book being raved about around the media, please believe the hype. Seriously, it’s amazing. I’m quite confident it’ll make it to my list of 2016 favorites too. Just please, please read it. I have a review of it here. If you’re interested, check it out! 🙂

SONG/MUSIC

Dream on by Aerosmith

tumblr_mavinf3qru1rairjso1_500_large

I discovered this song thanks to PMJ’s cover of it (it’s amazing btw. go check it out here) and I fell in looove with it. I’m not the biggest fan of Rock or Heavy Metal but Aerosmith is amazing. I especially love their live performances (I much prefer them to lyrics/studio recordings, actually).

the-voice-performs-dream-on-ftr

I also found out that the crew of The Voice did a stage performance of this song and it’s SO GOOD I TELL YA. Please go and watch it and then we can fangirl over that high note ughh ❤

Lake in The Moonlight (Swan Lake) by Tchaikovsky

Screen Shot 2016-09-26 at 4.43.08 PM.png

I was always a Classical fan, and though I’m highly aware of this particular piece by Tchaikovsky, I’ve never actually taken the moment to sit down and listen to it. So one day I was in a library doing my work and I looked up ‘classical pieces for studying’ when I came across Lake In The Moonlight. It’s such a soothing piece and it brings back so much memories. I listened to quite a lot of Classical music as a kid so this piece is no stranger to me! I was also obsessed with the Barbie movie Barbie of Swan Lake and It just takes me waaaay back to my childhood days ❤

EXO – Dancing King

exo-yoo-jae-suk_1474165568_af_org

I’m not obsessed with the song or anything (even though it’s lit af and is definitely really catchy), but the video was absolutely adorable!!

tumblr_odnd2iizn81r0q8i2o1_500

tumblr_odnfzsllbi1s8c78no6_r1_540

tumblr_odncoudhm61te2ggjo1_540

tumblr_odnev2kpcd1qfyovfo1_540

(…I couldn’t just include one gif, could i? 😆 credits to tumblr! 🙂 )

It was spontaneously done with clips of their dance practice, the boys goofing around with Yoo Jaesuk, all the dabbing… 😆 It’s nice to see the group having fun once in a while. All we ever get to see them do is work. I’m not sure what this track is supposed to be a part of but it was a pleasant surprise to have a special guest Yoo Jaesuk in it. It’s also a pretty different style of music coming from Exo, but I enjoyed it nonetheless! Watch it

BTS WINGS Comeback Trailer – BOY MEETS EVIL

official-bts-wings-2nd-album-cd-poster-po_00-600x600

You guys have no idea how freaking excited I am for BTS’ comeback, and the comeback trailer was dropped a few days ago and I FLIPPED.

tumblr_oe2fzblvul1u7z55eo1_540

tumblr_oe2fvxyaau1v210vao3_540

tumblr_oe332scwyf1sv68xeo1_500

(credits to tumblr! ❤ )

It was a 2-minute video of J-Hope dancing and I couldn’t have been blessed by anything more rewarding ❤ ❤ Everything was so beautifully done from the choreography, setting, the song… oh my goodness, the song has this mellow beat going on and then J-hope being all aesthetic and beautiful.. I literally lost it and I just thrashed around the bed at 12:00 a.m that night 😆 If you’re interested, watch the trailer here

MOVIES/FILMS

Ouran High School Host Club

1209771-best-ouran-high-school-host-club-anime-manga-wallpaper

Ouran’s my very first High School rom-com anime show and I LOVEEEE IT ❤ ❤ This was recommended to me by a fellow bookstagrammer (shoutout to the lovely Paula @Pauweredbyfaith !) because I was having this massive hangover from watching Death Note and I cannot thank her enough for recommending it to me! It’s about this club that a bunch of rich boys are apart of and Haruhi, our main character, happened to stumble upon it and it’s about their misadventures and shenanigans that they share together. To be quite honest I couldn’t stand the first episode, being a new fan of Anime, I was a bit weirded out by the storyline and how the characters acted. But after I got past that I was hooked. It’s hilaaaarious, sweet, adorable, fluffy, and the characters are such sweethearts. I was told by a friend that this is one of those ‘classic’ anime films that were made years ago. I wish I was a fan back then, but even so I got to watch this show and I couldn’t be happier!

Special A

kei-hikari-image-kei-and-hikari-36222444-500-375

I couldn’t get over Ouran so the same friend recommended Special A, and my goodness was it good. Another one of your classic anime rom-com films. It’s a lot like Ouran. Cute, romantic, lots of playful banters here and there. I absolutely loved it! It’s basically follows seven characters who are a part of a special elite group called ‘Special A’ and it’s a group where only the top 7 students with the best grades can be a part of. The main focus of this series is Hikari, a strong-willed student who will try anything to beat Kei Takishima, her number one (no pun intended :lol:) rival, and of course love sparks and things get dramatic 😉 it’s everything you’d ever want in an anime, really. ❤

The Tale of Princess Kaguya

no3_kaguya_nikonikoboard_out

A Ghibli film shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone of you. Y’all know how much I love Studio Ghibli films ❤ The film was mesmerising. It was heart wrenchingly honest and beautiful. It follows an old couple who  discovered a little nymph inside a bamboo stalk who grew up to be a beautiful princess. I have to admit, there were some parts that I found slightly uncomfortable to watch, but they contributed so much to the tale, and I ended up loving the film. I cried so much, and the reason I did was because of reasons I found really frustrating (if you’ve watched it you’ll know what i’m talking about 😥 ) Takahata did a remarkable job re-telling the famous Japanese myth of Princess Kaguya. I’d highly recommend giving this film a go.

Kaichou wa Maid sama

kaichou-wa-maid-sama-full-219815

To be quite honest it took me a while to look for a picture that doesn’t seem..suggestive.. 😆 but anyways this film is nothing like that. It’s literally a mix of Ouran and Special A. So cute! Playful banters, silly cosplays, freaking perfect love interest.. ugh, i’m not even close to finishing the series but I already know i’m going to love it.

Here’s to another month of discovering more hidden gems ❤

2 thoughts on “September Favorites!

Leave a Reply

