Book Review: With Malice by Eileen Cook

29604253.jpg

Title: With Malice

Author: Eileen Cook

Rating: 2.5/5 thumbprints

Release date: 9th June 2016

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Goodreads’ Synopsis:

Wish you weren’t here…

When Jill wakes up in a hospital bed with her leg in a cast, the last six weeks of her life are a complete blank. All she has been told is that she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy and had to be jetted home to receive intensive care. Care that involves a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…. wasn’t just an accident.

With no memory of what happened or what she did, can Jill prove her innocence? And can she really be sure that she isn’t the one to blame?

Review:

I have really mixed feelings about this book…. It’s mostly somewhat negative.

Now, I don’t normally pick up thrillers, let alone Psychological ones which promotes neurological illnesses. So I thought With Malice would be a fresh new read for me. It’s a YA book, it has an intriguing plot, and I’ve been seeing it EVERYWHERE on social media. Plus the cover’s absolutely stunning, so I just had to pick it up.

Sigh. The story was draggy and frustrating. It wasn’t in any way fast paced. Not for me that is. I thought I’d like the idea the of a story told through a series of interviews and documents, but I was wrong. I ended up skimming the whole thing. It was painful, to say the least. I was only able to take in the less chunkier ones, and even then I still had to force myself to read everything through. I was in no way invested to the story half way through it. The plot promised so much, but nothing I read lived up to it. The blurb “..Because the accident… wasn’t just an accident” was honestly a bit too misleading. It sounded saucy and bold, unlike the story itself. The main character was just drowning in misery throughout the whole story. There was just no positive development. Even though everything unravelled flawless in the end (the one thing that made me bump up the star rating), the characters remained bland and tedious. Very disappointing.

The only character I liked in the book was Anna, Jill’s rehab friend. She was the only tolerable character in the book and probably the only one I enjoyed reading about. She was such a relatable character too. She wasn’t prissy like Jill . Both girls went through equally traumatic events, but it was evident that Anna was stronger. Jill did not have the ferocity I had in mine. She completely lacked color.

I thought the ending was a bit too abrupt, but the twist was…well, it made up for the story, thank goodness. But I was overall really disappointed with the book. Everything else just seemed pointless in the end. I gasped a little and then shrugged it off like it was nothing. But hey, it’s got a great cover, I’ll give you that!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: With Malice by Eileen Cook

  1. Oh man, I have this one in my TBR pile but whenever I read a review it’s negative, not that I’m blaming anyone but since this is a thriller (which is a genre I like a lot) I thought it would be fast paced and full of action and suspense (what a disappointment that it’s not like that). Great review!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • haha oh i’m really sorry! /hides away
      some people thought it was fast paced though, but it was just really repetitive for me. bleh. i guess i’m just not used to thrillers because the mystery just keeps questioning itself.. well, this one was exactly like that though. i think that was why i thought everything just seemed dull and draggy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

