The Coffee Book Tag!

Okay so these book tags are reaaaally fun to do and I’m back today to participate in yet another tag! This time it’s The Coffee Book Tag *inserts steaming cup of coffee emoji* I won’t call myself an avid coffee drinker, but I’m getting there! Life has been hectic lately so coffee has basically been my little friend 😉

This book tag was originally created by BangadyBangz on Youtube! 🙂

*Picture credits goes to rightful owners*

1. Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

Throne of Glass series by: Sarah J. Maas

ToG.png

…Am I the only one? This series is a massive hit, and I rarely see critical reviews on these books. The plot and the characters are bloody epic, but.. idk? It’s just boring and draggy and I couldn’t stand the pace.

2. Peppermint mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Harry Potter series by: J. K. Rowling

IMG_3100.jpg

The Harry Potter series, of course! ❤ I’m only on the third book (don’t hurt me) but am really liking it. If I do finish the whole series before Christmas, I’d probably end up re-reading it during the festive season!

3. Hot chocolate: What is your favorite children’s book?

*Can’t pick a favorite book* by: Roald Dahl

dahl 2.jpg

Everyone grew up with HP and Percy Jackson, but I grew up with lovely Mr Dahl! I can’t pinpoint my absolute favorite book by him to be honest. He writes the wackiest, most unique books and I can’t express how much I enjoyed them as a youngster ❤ I remember curling up with The Witches when I had the measles *scrunches nose* and having the time of my life reading about Boy and his crazy witch encounters! I’ll probably have a full post on Roald Dahl’s books cause he deserves a standalone blogpost.

4. Double shot of espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Cinder by: Marissa Meyer

Processed with VSCO

Ohmahgord this book was everything. Even if the action starts halfway through the book I just kept tearing through those pages. So, so good. I know it’s a little slow at the beginning but PLEASE just go through the first few chapters and after that let it take its course. I promise you, you do not want to miss out on this series.

Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

A Song of Ice and Fire by: George R. R. Martin

985870_Fotor_Collage_Fotor.jpg

I see people on the bus reading these books. The hype surround this series is H U G E. I’m a fan of the tv series though. I should give these books a try!

6. That hipster coffee shop: Give a book by an indie author a shoutout

Shell by: Chris Gill

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

This Dystopian was such a fresh read! And coming from a non- Dystopian enthusiast, that says a lot. I’d highly recommend it!

7. Oops! I accidentally got decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

The Island by: Olivia Levez

The_Island_9781780748597-1140x1750

I really, really wanted to like this book. I expected so much from it too. It was so disappointing. It was nothing I’d hoped for. Sure it’s got a lovely cover, but everything was so annoying. The character, the storyline, the ending… Still, it seems like I’m one of the few who ended up feeling pretty deflated about this book. I’m positive you’ll be intrigued once you read the synopsis, so try this book out maybe?

8. The perfect blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying.

Stars Above by: Marissa Meyer

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

“A smile curled up her lips as she flipped the final page. A wave of euphoria washed over her as she re-read the last few words. For a moment there, she felt as if the characters were waving goodbye at her. Happy, content, satisfied. It was painful having to watch them leave, but she knew it was the end. Clutching the book against her heavy chest, she released her breath; one that she’s been holding throughout the length of the series. Through the ups and downs and the twists and turns, they each have their own endings after all.” -written by yours truly

I really don’t like mentioning the same author twice but Marissa Meyer and her Lunar Chronicles series is an exception. This epilogue is everything I could ever ask for. I flew threw it in two days and I wished I could’ve savored each story. *sigh* It wraps everything up beautifully but it left me very upset when the thought of ending one of my favorite series ever actually hit me. This book couldn’t have ended any other way. It was perfect.

I tag:

@legenbooksdary

@readthebloodybook

@lovelylittleliterature

@floralinkbooks

@thecosyreader

Happy reading everyone! 😀

2 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

