Unpopular Opinions Book Tag!

So I saw @bookwormwholived‘s post the other day where she did the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag and I thought it looked fun, so today I’m answering those questions! Please be mindful that these are indeed my own honest answers, so do respect them.

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like. 

The Fault In Our Stars by: John Green

11870085.jpg

I remembered reading The Fault In Our Stars about two years back and thought it was meh. I did watch the movie adaptation of it and though I much preferred it to the book (shocker, I know, I KNOW), I still thought the movie was just okay.

We We Liars by: E. Lockhart

16143347 (1).jpg

I was ecstatic to read this when I heard rave reviews about it. What a let down it was. The characters were so plain and monotonous and I felt like I was reading a four year old’s diary. The ending that was supposedly made to surprise the readers literally made me roll my eyes and throw the book across the room.

Crown of Midnight by: Sarah J. Maas

17167166.jpg

I know, I’m surprise myself. It took me two months to complete this book because it was so boring. I had to put the book down every chapter because the writing seemed to stretch forever. I mentioned in my ACOMAF book review that Maas adds in lots of unnecessary details in her writing, and though it does show just how well she writes, it’s pointless and undoubtedly repetitive. I actually liked Throne of Glass, but after reading Crown of Midnight, it’ll take a lot for me to continue with the rest of the series.

The Sea of Monsters by: Rick Riordan

28186.jpg

*hides away*

I actually don’t know why I didn’t enjoy this book. I love Greek Mythology and the characters of the story. Maybe it was the writing? I keep telling myself that if I actually picked this series up when I was younger I would’ve liked it better. It was boring in some parts and overall I just thought it felt like it was lacking something. Basically I have very, very mixed thoughts about this book.

Divergent by: Veronica roth

8306857.jpg

This book was just average to me. Nothing special at all. I’m not the biggest Dystopian fan and it was hard to follow through the actions and the build up of the world. I don’t plan on finishing this series.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

Forbidden by: Tabitha Suzuma

7600924.jpg

I’ve never actually seen any hate being directed towards this book, but there’s quite the controversy surrounding it. It was heart wrenching and so, so beautiful. The cover itself speaks so much. I was intrigued the moment I found out what the book was about, and how pleasantly surprised I was to find that I absolutely loved it. ❤

The Twilight Saga by: Stephanie Meyer

41865.jpg

I love this series! Twilight was what got me into YA and despite the amount of hate both the series and the movies are receiving, I adored them.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

*SPOILERS FOR DOROTHY MUST DIE SERIES AHEAD READ AT YOUR OWN RISK*

.

.

.

.

.

The Wicked Will Rise by: Danielle M. Paige

18602341.jpg

I was so upset to find out that Pete is gay and will most likely never end up with Amy. I liked Pete from the start and knowing that he won’t be as major as Nox probably would be in the series (I might be wrong. I haven’t read the last book yet) just saddens me. I was rooting for Pamy *sigh*

.

.

.

.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for. 

Sci-fi and Dystopian

                              Delirium by: Lauren Oliver            The Last Star by: Rick Yancey

I would’ve mentioned Fantasy but there are too many Fantasy books out there that (mind you I’m not the biggest Fantasy fan) is way too popular to be ignored, so Fantasy is a strike out in this list. I never liked Dystopian and/or Sci-fi.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I don’t think I have an answer for this question, I tend to agree with most book reviewers with their thoughts towards an annoying protagonist.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

The Iron Fey series by: Julie Kagawa

6644117-tile

I mean I’m okay with this series but I can’t seem to get through the second book. I was thinking of trying Julie Kagawa’s Talon series but I’m afraid I’ll feel the same way hah.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

On Dublin Street by: Samantha Young

15760001.jpg

Is ‘a damsel in distress who shunts people because she’s either ‘too broken’ inside or thinks nobody wants her and ends up looking like she’s hogging for attention’ counted as a book trope? Ugh. Female protagonists who make themselves look vulnerable and weak make me want to slam my head against the wall. Joss from On Dublin Street was SO annoying and she just makes up all these problems in her head and all the drama that surrounds her and the people who are just trying to help her are UGH IT MAKES ME WANT TO PULL MY HAIR OUT. /sigh

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

The Hunger Games by: Suzanne Collins

Hunger_games_trilogy.jpg

Couldn’t be bothered to read this series. Got nothing against it except I watched the first two movies (LOVED the first one, really didn’t like the second) and I don’t see myself reading this series in the future. Ever.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

6186357.jpg

The novel was an absolute bore, but the movie was brilliant! Very thrilling and it stayed faithful to the book as well.

So those are my thoughts! Do you have any bookish confessions that aren’t quite what you hear about in the Bookish community these days? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag!

  1. I’ve never seen the Maze Runner movie, but I thought the first book in the series was okay. The rest of the books, though? ABSOLUTELY NOT. I would have much rather it was a stand-alone novel than a series. And I think James Dashner is still writing even more books in the series? All I know is that I won’t be returning to that series anytime soon! Awesome tag! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had friends who thought the movie was just ‘alright’. I thought it was way better than the book! I’ve never even considered finishing the series after the first book haha! Yep, the series is just going on and on :/ Thank you so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

