A Studio Ghibli Film: Ponyo On A Cliff By The Sea

Oh, look, another Studio Ghibli post. Will I ever stop raving about these films? Not likely. Am I going to keep shoving these heartfelt films in your face? No doubt! Today I’m coming to you with yet another amazing film. My latest Ghibli watch: Ponyo

Ponyo.full.332292

This movie is said to be a re-imagining of Hans Andersen’s Classic tale The Little Mermaid, and while the plot does have its resemblance to the, the themes and values of the film Ponyo begs to differ.

So, a brief synopsis of the film (in my own words): A goldfish princess surfaces above the water one day and meets a little boy called Sosuke. Having to discover the little fish, he decides to keep her and name her Ponyo. Her father discovers her absence and tries to bring her back to sea, but Ponyo longs to stay in land as she starts falling in love with Sosuke. Using her magic, she was able to flee from her father, grow human features, and rekindle her friendship with Sosuke.

In all honesty, I feel like there wasn’t any ‘plot’ in the film. It was all just fun and games, especially the adorable relationship between Ponyo and Sosuke. Goodness, I just want to squeeze those two. It resembles Kiki’s Delivery Service in a way that the film focuses more on the characters and their development instead of the surrounding circumstances and context. Most people might find that pointless and boring. I mean yes these movies have stories, but they don’t necessarily follow the rules of a narrative. Characters and a hook? Check. Introduction to a problem? You can say so, but like I said before, the characters were the main aspects of the story. So, lacking. Tension? Not one bit. Resolution? There wasn’t even a problem to start with!!

Nevertheless, I didn’t mind the lack of plot holes and tension. I enjoyed every single moment of it. I love, love, LOVE the characters. They were so cute and fluffy (literally. Ponyo is an onomatopeia based on Miyazaki’s interpretation of soft, squishy things.) and I feel like the words ‘cute’ and ‘adorable’ are the only vocabularies I can think of at the moment because honestly there is no other way to describe this movie! It’s a very light film and literally anyone would enjoy it. Miyazaki’s movies are always thought to be symbols of traditional cultures and are usually analyzed further throughout, but Ponyo is just a story about two kids who are trying to have fun and bond together (..well, and perhaps highlight the societal values of people’s actions towards the environment [the sea] ).

So with that being said, this is a highly entertaining film that’s bound to make you gush, laugh and smile. I wouldn’t consider this my all time favorite Ghibli film, but It’s definitely right at the top of the list! I do love me my angsty, symbolical and sometimes quirky Miyazaki productions, but sometimes all I want is a simple boy meets girl story without having to pick up strong, undecipherable contexts. I’d definitely recommend this movie to anyone, and if you end up giving this movie a shot, I’ll love you like Ponyo loves her ham (you’ll get the reference when you actually watch the movie 😉 )

/teaser

giphy.gif

Ponyo-00148576777

Are you a fan of Studio Ghibli/Miyazaki? If so, what are some of your favorite films? I’d love to know! If you’d like more discussions on his movies, do leave me a comment below and I’ll get to it ASAP 😀

4 thoughts on “A Studio Ghibli Film: Ponyo On A Cliff By The Sea

  1. YESS ❤ ahhh I live for the studio ghibli films, especially the ones directed by Miyazaki! Ponyo was such an adorable and feel good movie ❤ My favorite Miyazaki film is Howl's Moving Castle, though I also love Kiki's Delivery Service and The Wind Rises ❤

    Like

  2. Pingback: Bookish Journal Updates: Movies, drawings, and more! | Books and Films for the soul

Leave a Reply

