Book Review: Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

image.jpeg

*I was sent a copy of this book by the publisher themselves in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Tell Us Something True

Author: Dana Reinhardt

Rating: 4.5/5 tacos 😀

Released Date (hardback edition): June 14th 2016

Goodreads’ Synopsis:

For fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer Smith, E.L. Lockhart, and John Green, this delightful, often comic coming-of-age novel stars the lovable, brokenhearted River, the streets of LA, and an irresistible cast of characters.

Seventeen-year-old River doesn’t know what to do with himself when Penny, the girl he adores, breaks up with him. He lives in LA, where nobody walks anywhere, and Penny was his ride; he never bothered getting a license. He’s stuck. He’s desperate. Okay . . . he’s got to learn to drive.

But first, he does the unthinkable—he starts walking. He stumbles upon a support group for teens with various addictions. He fakes his way into the meetings, and begins to connect with the other kids, especially an amazing girl. River wants to tell the truth, but he can’t stop lying, and his tangle of deception may unravel before he learns how to handle the most potent drug of all: true love.

Review:

Wow.. What an enthralling story. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever read before! It’s amazing how the author can write about life and its stereotypes – parties, relationships, broken hearts, but manages to steal the audiences’ breath away by transforming it into something completely different. This book reminded me of All The Bright Places with their quirky characters and unique interactions. Everything just weaves through flawlessly and it all feels so real. I loved River so much and it’s scary how much I can relate to him! I got myself to doggy ear the pages of the book because I simply adore the quotes in it (and I NEVER doggy ear my books – ever!). Of course, the first half of the story took some time to build up, but once it actually gets into the plot, BAM! You’re hooked. 

It took me two sittings to finish this book and I want moooore. The author blurbs speak the truth, you guys. It’s a very short book but so much happens in a span of 180+ pages. I highly, highly recommend picking this book up if you’re in a slump – nothing too cliche or cringey, just some heartfelt awkward love that’s bound to mess with your emotions ❤ I can’t wait to read more of Reinhardt’s books! 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

  1. Pingback: June New Releases | Book discussions, reviews, and more!

  2. Pingback: Delightful Underrated Books – Books and Films for the soul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s