Book Review: Black Crow White Lie by Candi Sary

IMG_2852_zpsszvsyjfs.jpg

*I was sent a copy of this book by the author herself in exchange for an honest review.*

*Now a short film by Chase Michael Wilson!*

Title: Black Crow White Lie

Author: Candi Sary

Rating: 3.5/5 crows

Goodreads’ synopsis:

Black Crow White Lie tells the story of young Carson Calley. He has a rare and magical gift of healing, a gift which both defines him and threatens to betray him. He lives in Hollywood motels with his alcoholic, fortune-telling mother, Juliette. She nurtures his gift, but her ways are deceptive. She feeds the boy fantastical stories to convince him of his greatness. At fourteen, Carson finally wises up to her lies and his identity is completely shattered. Juliette is too deep in her addiction to help him separate the facts from the fictions, so he looks for answers on the streets of Hollywood. There he finds Faris, a tattoo shop owner, and Casper, a cashier at a head shop. These two unlikely mentors help this troubled yet extraordinary boy find his way to the truth.

Review:

When I was given the synopsis of the book I was super pumped to read it. Very intriguing! A boy with healing powers and a psychic mom in Hollywood? Doesn’t get any quirkier than that. That would be one word to describe this book: quirky. It was definitely a very peculiar read – nothing I’ve ever read about before.

So okay, let’s rewind a bit further. The first part of the book was great, it was fast paced from the beginning (wasn’t that long of a read anyway with it being 232 pages long) but it just started getting sluggish as it progresses. One thing that got me frustrated was  Carson’s emotions. He’s got none at all.

So the book is based on Carson’s point of view – fair enough, I’d love to explore a world filled with peculiarity through the eyes of a magical healing boy, but what good would it do if all he cares about is himself? He was dull and expressionless. He’s got a mind of a normal 13 (almost 14) year-old boy, alright, that’s plausible, but the problem is he cages his feelings. The author’s writing wasn’t bad at all, but when it came to Carson, of all the characters, everything felt choppy. The people around him were way more interesting, and it’s frustrating because it’s Carson I want to know about, not anyone else.

On another note, I still liked the magical aspect of the story. Here’s one of a few quotes I adore:

“I felt the tiny stars that always came. It felt like thousands of them came pouring out of my hands. I couldn’t see them with my eyes; I could only see them with my eyes closed. But I could feel them. They filled my hands with heat, and when I shared them with my mom, it made her feel better.” ..enthralling, is it not?

A very quick coming of age read that suits all readers. I do recommend picking this book up if you’re looking for something different and unique. Looking forward to your future works, Candi! ❤

IMG_2852_zpsszvsyjfs.jpg

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Black Crow White Lie by Candi Sary

  1. Pingback: 3 Days, 3 Quotes Book Tag: Day #2

Leave a Reply

