My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve holiday stories

 

Before I start…

 

Merry-Christmas-Gif-Tumblr-12

 

…From the lovely Mr Tennant ^^’ XD

Aaah it’s that time of the year again where you can just huddle over a fireplace with a good book and some warm blankets. This year, I decided to re-read the book My True Love Gave to Me, written by 12 different authors (and edited by Stephanie Perkins). I must not be the only one who tries to get into the Christmas spirit by reading a festive book, right? 😳

 

 

 

Anyway, I have individual ratings and short descriptions for each story. Here they are:

 

° Midnights by Rainbow Rowell ° – 5/5 pokemon sweaters

This was so adorable! It wasn’t my favorite the first time I read it, but it was so magical the second time round! Definitely was a great start to the book, one of my faves! ❤

° The Lady and The Fox  by Kelly Link ° – 3/5 foxes

I thought this was pretty weird. It picked up at the end though, but overall I still wasn’t entirely sure of what the story was talking about.

° Angels in The Snow by Matt De La Pena ° – 4/5 kitties

I loved this! It was pretty sad though, couldn’t help feeling sorry for the main character Shy.

° Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han ° – 4/5 robins

This one was fun and quirky. Was waaaay too short though. I needed more. 😥

° It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins ° – 5/5 christmas trees

I adored this one, probably is my favorite out of the bunch. North and Marigold needs a book of their own NOW.

° Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan ° – 3.5/5 peppermint farm cookies

Meh. Didn’t care much for the story. Was okay overall.

° Krampuslauf by Holly Black ° – 3/5 goat horns

Don’t know what to say about this one except it was…weird.. I guess I understood the story in some way but..well…weird.

° What The Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman ° – 2/5 apple pies

Not a huge fan of this one. Decided to skip to the end halfway through the story.

° Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire ° – 4/5 firecrackers

I loved the characters in this one! Their relationships and the way they interacted were adorable!

° Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White ° 5/5 cups of hot chocolate

*swoon* ahhh this gave me all the feels ❤ I want me a ben who can cook me meals all day.

° Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter ° 4.5/5 twinkling stars

I loved the plot! I was thoroughly confused when reading the story, but the ending was a delight. It’s amazing how the author was able to fit all this in 32 pages and still manages to take my breath away. ❤

° The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor ° – 1/5 beetles

I’m not sure if it’s just me, but I had NO IDEA what the story was about. Couldn’t get through it at all. Didn’t even bother reading the end. I was disappointed with this one because with such a great introduction to the book it deserved just as good of an ending. Also because it’s Laini Taylor, I expected more from her.

 

Well that’s it! I’d love to know what you guys thought of each story! Merry Christmas everyone ❤

 

3 thoughts on “My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve holiday stories

Leave a Reply

