Favorite Books Of 2015

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Before the ball drops, I would like to mention my top books of 2015! I’ve narrowed it down to 7 books because quite honestly 2015 wasn’t my best reading year. With such a hectic schedule, I’ve only managed to read 55 books, hence not reaching my goal (which was supposedly 80). With that being said, 7 was as high as I could go. Nevertheless, these books were the best of the best, not necessarily the best books of 2015, but quite possibly of all time (to me, that is 😉 ) Without further ado, here are my favorite books of 2015! (Each book received either a 4.5 or 5/5 star rating)

7. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

This contemporary left a hole in my heart *ba dum tss* and is probably going to remain there for a very, very long time. This was my first novel that had actual suicidal elements and it did not disappoint. Not one bit. A girl and a boy who labels each other as their ‘suicide partner’ and falls in love.. i’m feeling Romeo and Juliet :p

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

It might not be a surprise to any of you to see Maas’ name up on the list, but for those of you who know me really well, I am not a hardcore fantasy lover, nor was I a fan of her Throne of Glass series (will still give it a try though). It could be the fact that I read ACOTAR before I read the TOG series that expectations were not met when reading TOG, but anyway, I’m here to talk about ACOTAR.

This Beauty and the Beast retelling was a masterpiece. It was completely different, yet very similar to the actual story which made it very enjoyable, being a Beauty and the Beast fan. I loved the characters, the romance, the world itself, everything. It was amazing, and I CANNOT wait for the sequel [A Court of Mist and Fury]

5. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Entering the top 5 is The Night Circus! I finished this only a week ago and it’s made my top fave books of 2015, hands down. So magical, so awe-inspiring. Reading this book can be slow at times, but that’s the beauty of it. You put it down and after a few hours you pick it back up, wanting more. The emotion and the world seeps through you and you take it in slowly, and soon you become part of it. The circus. Ugh, guys, it’s beautiful.. just…just read it.

4. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I can’t even with this book. THE FEEEELS ❤ It was a little slow at the beginning, but it gets so much better as it progresses. The emotions will clog in your brain, and it may or may not leave you shedding a tear or two. Love this book so much.

3. Isla And the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Ah, Perkins. Queen of all contemporaries ❤ Isla is the third and final installment to the Anna and the French Kiss companion novel/series (if you’ve not yet picked up Anna, I don’t know what you’re doing?! Read it! :p ) and it’s my fave amongst all three! A lot of people thought it wasn’t the best because the main character (Isla) is said to be annoying and childish, but I thought otherwise. I see myself in Isla. I’m shy, awkward, a goody two-shoes. I whine and cry and shout at unnecessary things, but that doesn’t make me anything less than a human being. With that being said, I thought Isla was really realistic and very much relatable. Also Josh, guys. Josh is love. ❤ ❤

2. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

This was just an e-galley I requested online and I never though I’d fall deeply in love with it. It might look like any other short, cute read, but it’s so much more than that. It’ll have you laugh, squeal, cry and all that good stuff.

And last but not least, my absolute favorite book of the year… *drumroll*

tumblr_inline_myosdiq1ij1sqgily

 

1. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 

*throws confetti* Yay! I loved this book a whole lot and I cannot recommend it enough. It’s another retelling of the story A Thousand and One nights and it was stunning. The reason why I loved this book is because it’s a high fantasy. Fantasy. Something I’m not a big fan of, yet the author’s made me fall in love with it. I don’t know how the author does it. Maybe it’s her flawless writing? Or the characters? Fantastic build-up of the world, maybe? psh. It’s magic, I’m telling ya. I’m very much impressed by how much I ended up liking it.

So that’s it! I hope y’all have a blast this New Year! Cheers to another year filled with more awesome books and fangirling moments. See you guys next year.

Leave a Reply

