How To Bookstagram

Have you ever encounter an Instagram page and go, oh, these pictures are amazing. I bet I can pull off something like that, and you go crazy with photo takings and new ideas but it all just turns out nothing the way you wanted it to look?

Oh, I’ve been there alright. It’s frustrating and a painful ache in the neck. I’ve come across Bookstagrams with high resolution pictures and the most aesthetic feeds and it just makes me look back at my sad and boring page and go.. damn, there is no way I can build up a profile like that.

Well my dear followers, before you get discouraged, I’d like to divulge my secrets and tips that will hopefully inspire you a little more and allow you to construct your Instagram to your liking. Here is How To Bookstagram.

  1. Be original and have fun!

I’ve started Bookstagram a little over a year ago and I’ve never had so much fun taking random pictures and putting up the quirkiest captions to this day. I mean this is YOUR page and YOU have full control of what you do, so why not make the best out of it? Have your pictures represent who you are. Don’t follow others just cause they have pretty pictures, post what you love and write what you want. Be original, you know?

2. Get into the community and interact

You should be all out there. Interact with your fellow Bookstagrammers! I’m an introvert, and that is the main reason why I joined Bookstagram in the first place. To communicate with people who actually understands me and who’s, you know, like me. I don’t mean promote yourself on other people’s comments (don’t.. it’s honestly the most annoying thing ever), do tags and join in on read-a-thons, that’s one way to talk to your fellow bookworm buds. Why not give shoutous? It’s nice to introduce a new Bookstagrammer to your followers, it allows the community to grow and, hey, you might actually make a few friends. I sure did, and they’re the best people to fangirl with! 😉

3. Don’t be afraid to post!

You’re a book hoarder? Brilliant! Snap a few pictures and post away! Bookstagram is the only place where you can brag about finding bargain books, your bookshelf, and anything bookish in general! Got a collection of Harry potter merch? Oh the community would love to see that. Found a new bookstore to browse? Tell us! Just read a spoiler? Rant away! See what I mean? This is your leeway. You’re free to do anything and just pretty much post anything.

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 1.27.25 AM

4. Get inspired!

I know we each have that Instagram page we all immerse ourselves in and are mesmerized by. Can’t lie, I find myself going back and forth from different accounts to inspire myself with the pictures they post. Hey, that’s totally fine. In fact, it’s it has allowed the community allows everyone to get everyone motivated and encouraged to spread the word about books! Want to get inspired? Here are a few Bookstagrams I personally adore:

ZEY_BOOKS

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 12.42.07 AM

BOOK.BOARDGAMES

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 12.43.17 AM

HAYAISREADING

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 12.46.04 AM

TWIRLINGPAGES

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 12.46.27 AM

_FOREVERMINT

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 12.47.36 AM

AILEEN.ARTSY

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 12.49.00 AM

[These photos give me life hoho <3]

So what are you waiting for? Start a page! Get creative! Communicate! There’s no such thing as too many Bookstagrammers. Bookstagram takes you a long way, it sure has changed my life for the better. I get to interact with people a million miles away from me, received the chance to talk to authors, and got to review their books as well. It’s been an unmitigatedly unforgettable journey, and I know more is to come. So;

2 thoughts on “How To Bookstagram

  1. Hi!! I came across your blog from your bookstagram and this post is very informative. Thanks!! Your bookstagram is really nice. I’m also a fellow book reviewer but have yet to do a bookstagram, maybe I will try it too. Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

