Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

*Disclaimer: I was provided an ebook copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Released date: September 1st 2015

Rating: 5/5 shining stars

This book follows a girl with a rare disease and is forbidden to witness life beyond the walls of her home. She tries to overlook the world around her, be an optimist in life with no friends or people to share your secrets with, and meets a guy who happens to live across her. Olly is nothing more than your average kid who goes to school every morning, meets new people everyday and is able to breathe in the world around him. What happens when their words collide? Are they able to pull each other out from the black hole that is engulfing the both of them?

This novel captures the aspects of the real world perfectly. The writing enhances the flaws in each character, but at the same time it’s made their imperfections stand out, adding more meaning to their lives. Olly and Maddy were such fun characters overall, I can literally see them freaking out over books and movies together with me! One thing I personally enjoyed most were the illustrations, I read this book on my phone and I literally just screenshot every page and quotes and it’s like you’re reading a journal instead of a book, you know?

Maddy was absolutely great, she loves her family and appreciates them for everything they’ve ever done. She’s got to be one of my favorite female protagonist, definitely. Very quirky, very smart, caring, lovable, and – as if I’ve not said it enough – brilliantly amazing.

This story has that ‘spark’, something you don’t see a lot in YA novels these days. It gives you a feeling of hatred, love, sadness, and just all sorts of emotions all bundled up. I’d give this book all the stars, but sadly it goes up to only five. This book has made its way to the very top of my list of favorite books. I’d recommend this if you’re a fan of I’ll give you the sun and/or Lola and the boy next door.

*This book comes out on September 1st. I received this digital arc from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Leave a Reply

