Book Review: The Dead Assassin by Vaughn Entwistle

vevw.jpg

*Disclaimer: an E-galley was provided for me in exchange for an honest review.*

Title: The Dead Assassin

Author: Vaughn Entiwstle

Published date: June 9th 2015

Rating: 5/5 stars

The Dead Assassin follows two authors’ (Oscar Wilde & Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) adventure brought to them by the most gruesome and peculiar murder case Scotland has ever yet to witness. The case drags both men further along the line when a recognizable suspect; Charlie Higginbotham, a thief that was hung and seen dead two weeks ago, comes present in the investigation.

This is the second book to The Paranormal Casebooks of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and I believe it is not necessary to read these books in order.

I was a bit biased when I requested this on Netgalley, being a fan of Doyle and his works. I tend to go into books blind, including this one, and it did not disappoint. Not one bit. I loved it, I’d though it’d be a bit slow in the beginning but I was instantly sucked in, the ambiance in the book is said to be a bit rustic and old-aged, but I thought it had a modern vibe to the way these men were communicating and the carriages they ride and how wealthy they’re said to be. It’s amazing how the author compares two very different things and molds them together to create his very own atmosphere. I’ve never read anything like it.

Also can we please talk about Entwistle’s articulate writing?! Marvelous! The dialogues between each character also tends to get playful and foolish, which was one of the perks of the book. I was reading this at a late hour one night and found myself snickering at how witty the characters are.

This book has it all. Tension, romance, plot twists. It’s a tad bit dark and morbid, but none of that bothered me a single bit. In fact, it made a more vivid image of the story in my head, giving how carefully detailed each scene was.

I highly HIGHLY recommend this book if you’re in the mood for an intense read, one that’ll bring you to the verge of your seats. A fan of twisted plot lines? Are you one with an open mind? Pick this up!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Dead Assassin by Vaughn Entwistle

Leave a Reply

